Wandering Viewpoint – thinking in progress

IMG_1545

I had a conversation on the title of my new composition “Wandering Viewpoint” in comparison to the word “Wonder” with Linda, a MLA alumni from Graham School that we met after the talk by Professor David Wray at Graham School’s MLA information session.  Her specialty as a translator (spanish & english) and her well-articulate manner made our conversation an enlightened one, starting when we looked into the etymology (see how Linda tracked down the meanings of the words on the sheet in the photo).  It begins to make sense.  I love how “miracle” implied in “wonder,” I also acknowledge how confusing it is to obtain an aimless “viewpoint” (mental position).*  For long, I appreciate the aesthetic “wandering” more than “goal,” or “ideology.” Although, most of the career path or whatever consultants (even Musical form!) would favor one has a “goal,” I ponder, my goal is to wander around? Does it sound alright?

The more I try to investigate my attempt deeper, I argue, it is important to know that the journey itself is more important than the destination.  To lose, or to gain/win, is sometimes so arbitrarily conditioned by whatever circumstances and rules.  Especially in the world of art, objective and subjective perspectives are not impossibly better or worse – a “bad” object might be meaningful for lending itself to exercise critical thinking.  To appreciate an object, is to participate, to give it attention, to explore, and to make dialog with your voice (have fun if you alter your position).  Would it be what “Wandering” might be meant to us during the course of a musical journey? To show my gratitude to the translator, Linda (whom I only know for few hours and promised to meet agin), and wish her the best for discovering beautiful things and miracles after we said goodbye, I wish to think about her a little more, and share a short article on “Wandering” in its German form Wanderlust, and more on the term “Wandering Viewpoint” that I borrow from Wolfgang Iser.

*The term “Wonder” was derived from David Wray’s lecture on Happiness.

Leave a Reply

